Welcome back, summer!

Terrace Gardening

I admit I was wearing winter clothes in August, the whole package: boots, hat, wool pants, cashmere sweater and coat…depressing right? Well it were two weeks of freezing 15 and less degrees in the Netherlands (I wasn’t surprised that much) but now I am. Summer is back in September and I really regret not having any fruit trees in my hot garden, it gets up to 30˚C in the sun…and we have brick walls…so extra warm weather here. I am getting back to blogging after a month of holiday and I also will go back to the normal routine, non-gardening stuff and into the depths of life basically. For the moment the last pics of my garden which turned out pretty well I think. Another cleaning and it should be done for this year.

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

Terrace Gardening

After buying all the herbs in my reach I planted them in terracotta and moved on to create a kitchen garden. It is quite unusual to grow vegetables on a terrace, or in a garden in the Netherlands, I think. Allotments are quite easy to get here as not many people seem to be into kitchen gardens here. It’s always fun to do something different, right. I never had a plant in Madrid except for cut-flowers so this is my chance and I am compensating.

Lately I had a Japanese bird sing in my head and I got me a Sakura Kojou-no-mai or small Cherry Blossom tree and a Japanese maple. They are both red in autumn and just gorgeous. When it comes to color nature is the best school there is. So where to put a bamboo wall…I can’t wait to have a big garden really. Our roses are flowering like crazy and it’s really fun having some. They are pretty small actually and fit on every balcony. I really believe the banana peel I gave them is working it’s magic. Even though September is the month of harvesting, I did sow winter vegetables in August already. They grow quite well and even though it feels like the peak of summer the winter veggies don’t seem to mind at all. Even our spiders are enjoying the summer time and getting fatter every day while keeping flies and wasps away. Once we cleaned up the rest of the terrace there will be another garden update, but from tomorrow it’s back to life-blogging, photography and travel inspirations. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

