Manzanares El Real – Mountains of Madrid

Manzanares El Real Madrid

I have to admit that this trip was overdue for some time. After 4 years in Madrid I haven’t visited Manzanares El Real yet and I was going to leave withing the month.

We took the bus 724 from Plaza Castilla to Manzanares in the North of Madrid which took us around 40 minutes. There we met some friends for Cañas and walked around the castillo Manzanares El Real which is really nice but today it was quite hot. Every time I get to walk around these old buildings I feel like being transported into a Tomb Raider adventure. It reminds me of the fantastic ruins in Gotland. I have to admit that there is something great about Spanish pueblos. People never seem bored like in other small towns in Europe. Somehow in Spain people have this inner engine to go out, have a drink and meet with friends that doesn’t really exist anywhere else. There is always a reason for tapas and cañas. You always find the older generation sitting around the town square and watching the happenings, tourists and discussing what’s going on. I have seen this in Chinchon as well and I think it makes this villages look alive. After some touristic touring and taking pictures we went to have a BBQ in the garden of our friends. It’s amazing that you can have a house with garden for the price of a 2 bedroom in the city center. I could really consider living in Manzanares if it had a direct train connection to Madrid and if I wouldn’t have a place to live in The Netherlands…

Manzanares el Real Madrid
Manzanares El Real Madrid
Manzanares El Real Madrid
Manzanares El Real Madrid
Manzanares El Real Madrid
Manzanares El Real Madrid
Manzanares El Real Madrid

Leave a Reply

