Oriental Shopping Madrid – The 2nd Downtown

Afghan Wool 2nd Downtown Madrid

Get to know Oriental Shopping Madrid. When I entered The 2nd Downtown on C/San Pedro in Madrid it felt like being in an oriental textile heaven. Handmade rugs, bed sheets, pillow cases, blankets, jewellery and porcelain from far east places like Afghanistan were laid out in front of me. A couple was in a deep discussion over a gorgeous carpet while I was looking for a bed cover that could fit with our curtains in the Netherlands…safari meets antique meets oriental.

I found this huge (3.50m x 3.50m) blanket made of wool from Aghanistan, which I took home without big doubts. It is huge but also thin and can be thrown perfectly over the bed, couch or on a chair. I used it as a blanket already, I put away my winter sheets so when I feel cold at night it keeps me warm. Such a hand made wool sheet is an investment as they can be pretty pricey but they also have a collectors value. They are high quality, are perfect as blankets and unique as they are handmade. It is also quite interesting to have a piece from a country like Afghanistan which is not the most touristic destination. If you are in Madrid and looking for something very special, qualitatively high and interesting The 2nd Downtown is my place to go for it.

Afghan Wool 2nd Downtown Oriental Shopping Madrid
Afghan Wool 2nd Downtown Oriental Shopping Madrid
Afghan Wool 2nd Downtown Madrid
Afghan Wool 2nd Downtown Madrid

Leave a Reply

