Riding a Dutch Bike

riding dutch bike

One of the things to do in The Netherlands is taking a bike and give it a try. Not necessarily on the street but in a park or along the countryside. The nice thing here is that without hills and mountains you can just go with low effort. If the weather is nice you can enjoy the landscape and understand why the Dutch love going with their bikes.

While people in big cities prefer fast bikes around 10 kilo weight, a Dutch bike can be pretty heavy. When I first tried to go with the bike of my boyfriend’s mom, I was having quite some trouble. My bike at home is around 11 kilo, a racing bike I used to go to university and in the city. With a 20 kilo or more one, that I cannot lift, I had trouble changing directions fast enough or to stand on a traffic light without feeling like falling.

After some time I got used and enjoyed riding along the Dutch countryside, but I would still prefer my own bike just because I am used to it. Probably with the strong wind blowing in The Netherlands I would encounter different troubles with it.

Leave a Reply

